The Serie A is the highest level in the Italian football league system There are sixteen clubs in the Serie A. During the course of a season each club plays the others twice, once at their home stadium and once at that of their opponents. Teams receive three points for a win and one point for a draw. Teams are ranked by total points, then wins, then goal difference, and then goals scored. At the end of each season, the club with the most points is crowned champion. The three lowest placed teams are relegated into the Serie B.

Serie B